Salah and De Bruyne nominated for Premier League Player of the Year

Mohamed Salah and Kevin De Bruyne are among the eight nominees for Premier League Player of the Year, whose list was announced on Friday. The others are Trent Alexander-Arnold, Joao Cancelo, Jarrod Bowen, Bukayo Saka, Son Heung-min, and James Ward-Prowse.

Salah leads the league’s top scorers with 22 goals for Liverpool and has provided 13 assists. De Bruyne, a fundamental piece in Manchester City’s game, is fourth in the ranking of scorers, with 15, and has served 7 assists.

Both Salah and De Bruyne (both former Chelsea players) have won the Premier League’s best player award once. The Egyptian winger, in 2017-18 and the Belgian midfielder, in 2019-20. Last season the winner was the ‘citizen’ Ruben Dias.

On the list of nominees are two City players, De Bruyne and Cancelo. Two from Liverpool, Salah and Alexander-Arnold. And, with one, Arsenal (Bukayo Saka), Tottenham (Son), West Ham (Bowen) and Ward-Prowse (Southampton).

Two of them are nominated for best youngster: Alexander-Arnold and Saja, along with Phil Foden (Manchester City), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal), Declan Rice (West Ham), Tyrick Mitchell and Conor Gallagher (Crystal Palace).


For best coach, Pep Guardiola, Jürgen Klopp, Eddie Howe (Newcastle), Thomas Frank (Brentford) and Patrick Vieira (Crystal Palace).